Shock! Shameful from KKK-TBH!

Readers of this blog know that I’m a huge fan of Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Heong, and while I’m critical of their recent performances, I’m proud of their achievements and their potential.
But in my accidental foray into Youtube today, I found this clip:

I quote from the About box of the video:

This is from the 3rd and deciding game of the Mens Doubles QF at the 2007 French Open Badminton.
The clip starts with a long and hard-fought rally.
Finally, Japan’s Tadashi Ohtsuka & Keita Masuda win the point when Malaysia’s Tan Boon Heong’s drop hits the net and falls back into the Malaysian side of the court.
Notice (at 0:35) how Koo Kien Keat (Malaysia) steps forward and pushes the dead shuttle to the Japanese side for the next serve. (Returning the shuttle to the other side is the usual thing to do after losing a point.)
Importantly, it means that the Malaysians knew that the shuttle had failed to cross over to the Japanese side and that being so, they had lost the point and the serve to the Japanese.
Then comes the shocker of a decision by the umpire – he gestures that Malaysia had won the point. The Japanese can’t believe it!
Bizarrely enough, the service judge is the one who contends that the shuttle fell into the Japanese side, although the action happened closer to the umpire.
What follows is simply shameful – and I can’t believe that any Malaysian would actually do this.
Even as the Japanese duo are pleading their case, the Malaysian duo shamelessly walks away, when all they needed to do was acknowledge the wrong call.

If I were told this I simply wouldn’t believe it. But the video clearly shows them guilty of the charge.
Malaysians may not be the best in sports, but if there’s one thing that should define us it’s our sportsmanship. This is not acceptable behaviour! There would be no glory in winning something mired in controversy, and this is the worse kind of controversy – because the replay shows you’re a scam!
Now I know the players have been told never to question the decisions of the match officials, especially if it goes against your opponent and your opponent is objecting the decision until he’s blue in the face. But come on! That rule is for dodgy line calls and misjudged top-of-the-tape shuttle taps. Definitely not for obvious errors like that!
You’re both above that. Right?
No?
Damn I’m embarrassed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *